Dear Thomas….

Dear Thomas,
Today you turn one.  We’ve spent a whole year with you in our arms now.

You are our third son.  You are our baby.  You are most likely our last child.  You are an answer to a complicated prayer.  When your two brothers were born so early, I prayed to God to remove the longing from my heart for a third child, or to give us a “happy accident” because I couldnt make the choice myself to risk baby number three.  God chose the latter.  He chose to show me that He was still in charge and working miracles.  When I had so much trouble conceiving your brothers, God chose to give you me by surprise.  It was scary.  I had to go through a few things to ensure you “stayed put” but God was in control.  And you were born happily healthy, full term, and got to come straight to my arms.

You spent your first night sleeping beside me, and for the past year you’ve never left that spot.  I love that you love me so much (remind me that at midnight tonight ok? ;-)) that you never want to leave my side.  You are a mama’s boy.  It makes my heart swell. Dont be mistaken, your brothers are sweeties too, but you have always had a special preference for me and it makes me smile amid the exhaustion.

You are my big boy.  My “Monster Baby”.  You will always be my baby.  You will always be my special boy.  I am so thankful that God decided to give you to me.  I am so thankful that I have you and can’t imagine life without you.  Happy FIrst Birthday, Thomas William.  Mama loves you

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

