Super Hero Capes

Sewing projects for crafty mamas of boys can be challenging.  No frilly dresses, no cute headbands, no darling skirts.  But…all is not lost.   These cute and easy capes are a favorite.   I made my boys one a couple years ago,  its worn almost daily.   I was commissioned to make a couple for dress-up toys for a local preschool.   Here is how I did it.

I used the shape I made before,  but just use a big piece of paper to do a mockup if you need too.  Basically a big tear drop size on the fold to make it semetric.  Then cut a half circle out of the top.  Clip your fold at the top.  You can make any lenghth, depending on the child, but I like it to be short enough for good running ability.

image

image

Cut two of these.  Use the first one as your pattern for second.  Then pin right sides together and sew. 

image

image

Leave a few inches open on bottom straight part for turning.

image

Then clip your curves.  This just means little clips to make it lay smoother.   Trim corners at neck line, just get rid of bulk.  

image

Then reach in your hole and turn, careful to poke out corners and curves.  Then press.

image

When you get to your hole, just fold in seam allowance and press and pin.  We’ll sew it up when top stitching.

image

Now, back to machine to top stitch it. Just sew close to edge all the way around.

image

You can stop here and safety pin top together when you wear it, that’s what I do with my kids. (Mainly because I put ties and hated how they looked and cut them off) But these I did velcro. Cut a small set and sew around close to the edge.

image

Now…go save the world!

Leave a Reply

